Album Art Courtesy of The Valory Music Co.

NASHVILLE, TN (December 3, 2021) – Aaron Lewis understands walking the line, knowing that bad decisions yield a response. When he was pulling together FRAYED AT BOTH ENDS (The Valory Music Co.), a decidedly grown up look at life, mistakes and the price paid, he wanted to strip his already austere Country sound back even further and leave more room for what the Los Angeles Times calls “his mournful baritone.”
With an acoustic guitar forward, a few mandolin flourishes and a dobro threading through slow midtempo, “Get What You Get manifests Lewis’ Haggard-esque hard scrabble post-Dust Bowl Country. Sitting in a room full of reckoning that considers that notion of actions and response, the song stands as a hymn of understanding the cost of choices.
“In some ways, it’s such a simple song,” Lewis explains. “It’s a basic truth, one you can’t deny, but a lot of people spend a lot of time trying to ignore or forget. Right from the first line – ‘You can’t strike a match, then dance in the fire/ Cry every time you get burned….’ – it’s all laid out there, just flipping the cards over one by one.”
Written with friends Ira Dean and Dan Tyminski, “Get What You Get” could be a simple after the love has been wrecked song, or it could speak to a larger crisis of the soul inside oneself. Rife with the impact and after-effects, it is world weary yet clear-eyed. A song of someone who’s survived, who understands and is willing to stand in the ashes of understanding to get on with their life where they are. Watch the lyric video here: https://aaronlewis.lnk.to/GWYG_LyricPR
Having spent the past decade in Nashville, making records and friends, FRAYED AT BOTH ENDS merges Lewis’ deeply introspective work with Staind, the 15-million-selling post-grunge/alternative metal band he co-founded, and the rambling sense of tough lonesome in the Country of Haggard and Waylon Jennings. Even more rooted in the genre than his No.1 Billboard Country Album debuts TOWN LINE and SINNER,  “Get What You Get” builds on the stark sound that propelled “Am I The Only One” to a No. 1 Billboard Hot Country Songs debut; only the ninth time since the charts’ inception in 1958.
Working with some of Nashville’s finest musicians — guitarists Tom Bukovac, Biff Watson and Seth Taylor, dobroist Ben Kitterman, acoustic slide and baritone guitar from Sturgill Simpson veteran Laur Joamets, keyboards from Jim Moose Brown, acoustic guitar and mandolin from Dan Tyminski – the playing is an equal part of what makes these performances so enduring.
“I think people want to hear fingers on the guitar strings, to sense it’s one person to another making this music,” says the man born in Springfield, Vermont. “The idea these performances came out of real life, these songs are pieces of life means something. So ‘Pull Me Under,’ ‘Goodbye Town’ and the rest of this album came from the notion people want to feel the music.
“I did an acoustic show at the Ryman, and stripping things back really let the songs speak in a different way. I grew up listening to country music, listening to records with a lot of dobro and steel,” he continues. “After the show, Scott Borchetta came back to the dressing room and said, ‘You know, you oughta make an unplugged album,’ which got me thinking.”
Mixed by Chris Lord-Algae, the 5-time GRAMMY-winning engineer made the warmth of the playing and depth in the room undeniable on the album available January 28 via The Valory Music Co. “Get What You Get” is available now on all streamers and with pre-order at all digital retail platforms.


1.    “Again” | Aaron Lewis, Ira Dean, David Lee Murphy
2.    “Goodbye Town” | Aaron Lewis, Randy Montana
3.    “Everybody Talks To God” | Craig Monday, Chris Wallin
4.    “Am I The Only One” | Aaron Lewis, Ira Dean, Jeffrey Steele
5.    “Kill Me Like You Love Me” | Aaron Lewis, Ira Dean, Dan Tyminiski, Chris Wallin
6.    “Pull Me Under” | Aaron Lewis
7.    “Life Behind Bars” | Aaron Lewis, Josh Hogue, Matt McGinn
8.    “Waiting There For Me” | Aaron Lewis, Ira Dean, Dan Tyminiski, Chris Wallin
9.    “They Call Me Doc” featuring CreatiVets, Vince Gill, Dan Tyminiski | Shaun Bott, Richard Casper, Brian Carper, Jourdan Walker, Johnny McGuire
10.  “Get What You Get” | Aaron Lewis, Ira Dean, Dan Tyminiski
11.  “Sticks And Stones” | Aaron Lewis, Paul Barber, Matt McGinn
12.  “One In The Same” | Aaron Lewis, Trent Tomlinson
13.  “Someone” | Aaron Lewis, Paul Barber, Matt McGinn