Credit Allister Ann

NASHVILLE, TN (February 5, 2021) – CARLY PEARCE leans into heartache and hard truths only to emerge more grounded in who she is. With “Should’ve Known Better,” the Kentucky-bred CMA Award-winning singer writes about the life she has lived and lessons learned observing the world around her.

Carly reflects, “I’ve discovered a lot about myself over the last year, wrestling with how not to assign so much blame for accepting or overlooking things that in the end know you should’ve known. This song is about finding peace in all kinds of relationships as you figure them out, and hopefully, you’re better for the next.”

Penned alongside frequent collaborator Emily Shackelton and Jordan Reynolds the introspective lyricsrecount:

Still some nights I’m crying on the floor
But I’m not sleeping in the bed you made no more
I gave you my heart, you let it go to waste
You made me do the leaving and you made me take the blame
Does it make you feel good to make me feel bad
Yeah you should’ve known better, should’ve known better
Than to break what you couldn’t fix
Boy what a shame, what you’re gonna miss
Why’d you go and do what you can’t take back
Yeah you should’ve known better, should’ve known better than that 

The multi-generational tumble further explores a pivotal year that inspired her full collection called 29, out February 19 via Big Machine Records. In a raw, black and white clip, she shares a visual timeline of how the music unfolded:

Carly has carved a place in today’s Country music by being honest about her doubt, shouldering tough truths and creating space for pain, laughter and growth. Teaming with Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne, she returned to her roots as a girl who loved the strong women of ‘90s country and mines vulnerability with the same honesty that defined Tammy Wynette. As the siren warnings of “Next Girl” climb into Top 30 at Country radio and her catalogue bursts over 1 billion streams anchored by chart-topping, PLATINUM-certified hits “Every Little Thing” and “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” Carly marks a new chapter coming of age.

Pre-save 29 now:
1. “Next Girl” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
2. “Should’ve Known Better” | Carly Pearce, Jordan Reynolds, Emily Shackelton
3. “29” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne
4. “Liability” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne      
5. “Messy” | Carly Pearce, Sarah Buxton, Jimmy Robbins*
6. “Show Me Around” | Carly Pearce, Emily Shackelton, Ben West       
7. “Day One” | Carly Pearce, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne, Matthew Ramsey
Produced by Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne
*Produced by Jimmy Robbins