Country Music’s Best Four-Part Harmonies Envelop Acoustic Recordings at Famed Studio

NASHVILLE, TN (December 15, 2017) – Originally planning to only record “Silent Night” at the famed Nashville studio, DELTA RAE was inspired to spend the entire evening capturing and producing additional songs that hold special meaning for them, juxtaposing vibrancy and intimacy across four tracks. The band wraps their abundant harmonies around THE BLACKBIRD SESSIONS EP, out today on The Valory Music Co.

“I wrote our current single ‘No Peace In Quiet’ from the heartache that can come when you feel truly alone. Going into the holidays, we wanted to record a hopeful Christmas carol to release alongside it,” shares Eric Hölljes. I”n November we went into Blackbird Studios – a magical place where so many great artists and musicians have recorded – and after finishing ‘Silent Night’ we felt inspired to see what else might happen if we kept recording. I’m so glad we did.”

Drawing from the ubiquitous vocal blends of iconic groups, Delta Rae bookends the EP with “Seven Bridges Road” and “Blackbird” while also featuring an acoustic piano version of their current single “No Peace In Quiet” and holiday favorite “Silent Night.” Hölljes’ siblings Brittany, Eric and Ian alongside Liz Hopkins share lead vocals over minimal instrumentation that also includes bandmate Grant Emerson and Gideon Klein, who accompanied the troupe on their headline A LONG AND HAPPY LIFE SUMMER TOUR 2017.

He continues, “The song choices were easy and while recording we discovered a gorgeous upright piano, perfect to try out a special acoustic version of ‘No Peace In Quiet’ with our friend Gideon adding his magic on violin. Then we thought about what covers were symbolic to the band. While on radio tour we worked up a few from artists we grew up loving and wrapped ‘Blackbird’ and ‘Seven Bridges Road’ after only a few takes.”

Catch a glimpse inside the studio with new videos: “Seven Bridges Road,” “No Peace In Quiet,” “Silent Night” and “Blackbird.”

“Delta Rae’s signature sound is our four-part blood harmonies, and we saw this as a chance to strip it down to let our voices shine on top of the sparsest instrumentation,” explains Eric. “Often times, when you’re making a record, each singer goes into an isolation booth and records one at a time so you can make sure it sounds perfect before adding the next voice. But we didn’t want that. We wanted it to be great but like you were in the room with us. This was truly my favorite part, setting up the four microphones in the booth together. We arranged on the fly … it’s as raw and real as we get!”

The Blackbird Sessions EP TRACK LIST:
1. Seven Bridges Road (Recorded at Blackbird Studios, Nashville) | Written by Stephen T. Young
Vocals – Brittany Hölljes, Eric Hölljes, Ian Hölljes, Liz Hopkins
Acoustic Guitar – Eric Hölljes, Gideon Klein
Upright Bass – Grant Emerson
Banjo, Mandolin – Gideon Klein
Percussion – Brittany Hölljes, Liz Hopkins

2. No Peace In Quiet (Recorded at Blackbird Studios, Nashville) | Written by Eric Hölljes, Tiffany Goss, Adam Wood
Vocals – Brittany Hölljes, Eric Hölljes, Ian Hölljes, Liz Hopkins
Acoustic Guitar, Piano – Eric Hölljes
Upright Bass – Grant Emerson
Violin – Gideon Klein

3. Silent Night (Recorded at Blackbird Studios, Nashville) | Traditional (Written by Franz Xaver Gruber, Joseph Mohr, John Freeman Young) | Arrangement by Delta Rae
Vocals – Brittany Hölljes, Eric Hölljes, Ian Hölljes, Liz Hopkins
Acoustic Guitar – Eric Hölljes
Upright Bass – Grant Emerson
Cello – Gideon Klein

4. Blackbird (Recorded at Blackbird Studios, Nashville) | Written by John Lennon, Paul McCartney
Vocals – Brittany Hölljes, Eric Hölljes, Ian Hölljes, Liz Hopkins
Acoustic Guitar – Eric Hölljes
Percussion – Brittany Hölljes
While fans have shared how ‘No Peace In Quiet” is a comfort in their own losses, critics are embracing the musicality and sentiment. MusicRow notes, “Everything this band does is deliciously melodic and oh-so catchy. This gorgeous ballad is another perfect gem. Make room for this on your playlists, please.” Watch the video and the story behind it:

Proving to be a busy year of touring and music making, THE BLACKBIRD SESSIONS EP follows Delta Rae’s A LONG AND HAPPY LIFE EP. Of their initial introduction, Rolling Stone Country raved of the, “harmony-drenched Southern pop-rock with slick production and giant hooks.” The band, which also includes drummer Mike McKee, was featured on several 2017 Artists to Watch lists with Entertainment Weekly boasting, “their profile will rise this year.” Taste of Country insists, “keep your eye on Delta Rae. […] seducing your melodic hooks and tight instrumentation, they’re also giving a lesson on Southern literature.”

Delta Rae will spend the holidays much like they do on the road – with family, including the first “Delta Bae,” Ian and wife Rebecca’s newborn Leo – and continuing to record new music for a full-length album that is sure to offer “the power of the written word” (Women’s Wear Daily). For more information, visit