PETTY COUNTRY, USA (June 7, 2024)—Margo Price’s cover of Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers’ “Ways To Be Wicked” debuts today. Featuring the song’s original co-writer—Mike Campbell of The Heartbreakers—the track is from the anticipated forthcoming tribute album, Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty. Listen/share the new version HERE.

“Ways To Be Wicked” precedes Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty, the Country tribute album lovingly curated by some of Petty’s closest friends and collaborators. The record is set for release on June 21 via Big Machine Records in partnership with the Tom Petty Estate—pre-save/pre-order it HERE.

A slew of songs have been shared ahead of album release, including Eli Young Band’s “Learning To Fly,” Wynonna Judd’s take on the classic “Refugee” featuring Lainey Wilson, Steve Earle’s rendition of “Yer So Bad.” Chris Stapleton’s take on Tom Petty’s “I Should Have Known It” (which debuted as the No. 1 most added track at Triple A), and “Southern Accents,” reimagined by Petty’s friend and fellow Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee, Dolly PartonDierks Bentley’s version of the Petty classic, “American Girl,” also premiered earlier this year as Bentley’s highest charting single upon launch and is currently climbing through the Top 35 on Country radio. Watch Bentley perform “American Girl” on Good Morning America HERE.


Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers was one of the most singular and distinctly American bands. Beyond the west coast Rock-Folk jangle, San Francisco psychedelia and a blast of British invasion, the south’s influence was a constant throughout Petty’s songwriting in his words, truths and especially his defiance and dignity. Petty Country: A Country Celebration of Tom Petty draws on all the aspects and flavors of the Gainesville-raised icon’s roots and leans into the genre that defines the region, bringing the top talent in Country and Americana music together to create a 20-song tribute to Petty’s dynamic musical legacy (out June 21 via Big Machine Records). Executive produced by Scott Borchetta (Big Machine Label Group), George Drakoulias (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Black Crowes) and Randall Poster (Wes Anderson, Skyfall) with the oversite of the late icon’s daughter, Adria Petty, the collection pulls from across various realms and seasons of music to create a full picture of Petty’s impressive catalog. Artists lending their talents to the project include: Dierks Bentley, Brothers Osborne, Luke Combs, Steve Earle, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Carly Pearce, Thomas Rhett, George Strait, Chris Stapleton, Lainey Wilson and many more. True to the originals, true to what those songs could be, Petty Country, like Traveling Wilbury, shows vast the influence and reach of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee and highlights the previously unseen breadth and Country reach of Petty’s songs.


1. “I Should Have Known It” by Chris Stapleton
2. “Wildflowers” by Thomas Rhett
3. “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Luke Combs 
4. “Southern Accents” by Dolly Parton
5. “Here Comes My Girl” by Justin Moore
6. “American Girl” by Dierks Bentley
7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” by Lady A
8. “I Forgive It All” by Jamey Johnson
9. “I Won’t Back Down” by Brothers Osborne
10. “Refugee” by Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson
11. “Angel Dream No. 2” by Willie Nelson & Lukas Nelson
12. “Learning To Fly” by Eli Young Band
13. “Breakdown” by Ryan Hurd feat. Carly Pearce
14. “Yer So Bad” by Steve Earle
15. “Ways To Be Wicked” by Margo Price feat. Mike Campbell
16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” by Midland
17. “Free Fallin’” by The Cadillac Three feat. Breland
18. “I Need To Know” by Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” by Rhiannon Giddens feat. Silkroad Ensemble and Benmont Tench
20. “You Wreck Me (Live)” by George Strait

# # #