Watch: Brothers Osborne’s Performance of “Won’t Back Down” on ABC’s CMA Fest Special HERE

PETTY COUNTRY, USA (July 2, 2024) – The Country tribute album Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty released last Friday (June 21), via Big Machine Records, officially debuted at No. 1 on the All Genre Chart on iTunes to also become the No. 1 Compilation Album in its first week.

Listen to “Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty” HERE

Watch “Welcome To Petty Country”  HERE

The impressive lineup of artists have joined in on the celebration of Petty Country’s release. Last week Ryan Hurdhosted a special weekend long “take-over” on SiriusXM’s Tom Petty Radio as Brothers Osborne, performed their rendition of “I Won’t Back Down” on ABC’s CMA Fest special on Tuesday (WATCH HERE). Dolly PartonChris Stapleton, and Mike Campbell shared insights to their creative process and personal connections to Petty’s iconic hits with CBS Mornings. The compelling segment offered fans a deeper understanding of what inspired these artists in their interpretations of Petty’s beloved songs (READ HERE). 

The collection of heartfelt covers, performed by renowned Country and Americana artists, Petty Country has also caught the attention of media, with many reviews pouring in, praising the tribute to the late musical icon. 

What critics are saying: 

” a fitting tribute that captures the spirit and legacy of Tom Petty’s music.” 
– Men’s Journal  

“there’s a lot for country fans to love.” – 

 “It’s a fitting love letter to Petty” –Spin

“possesses something of Petty’s industry-redefining creative swagger” –Tennessean

 “The tribute album will hopefully introduce Petty’s music to a younger generation and a different audience.”

“A beautiful tribute to one of rock’s greatest artists. Do yourself a favor and check it out” – Whiskey Riff 

“… they all possess something of Petty’s industry-redefining creative swagger.”
– The Pick

 “Serves as a healing tribute for both the artists and the fans.” 
– CBS News 

“The special showcase highlights how the late rocker’s southern roots shaped his music and his continued influence on new generations of Country artists.” 
– Music Row  

“Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty infuses Country flare — spotlighting his previously-established roots in the genre, despite the globally-embraced icon becoming known for his rock music and California anthems — while remaining true to the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer’s career.” 
– Best Country Bands 

Collaborators on the album and several members of Petty’s family gathered at the Country Music Hall of Fame on Thursday (6/20) to celebrate the release as well as the opening of Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum’sTom Petty: Where I Come From. The special showcase highlights how the late rocker’s southern roots shaped his music and his continued influence on new generations of Country music artists, featuring several artifacts seen in Dolly Parton’s “Southern Accents” music video. Additionally, Nashville’s downtown was converted into Petty Country as more than 30 bars and honky tonks around the city’s famous Broadway hosted live performances, sing-a-longs, exclusive giveaways and more than 36 hours of non-stop Tom Petty music.


1. “I Should Have Known It” by Chris Stapleton
2. “Wildflowers” by Thomas Rhett
3. “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Luke Combs 
4. “Southern Accents” by Dolly Parton
5. “Here Comes My Girl” by Justin Moore
6. “American Girl” by Dierks Bentley
7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” by Lady A
8. “I Forgive It All” by Jamey Johnson
9. “I Won’t Back Down” by Brothers Osborne
10. “Refugee” by Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson
11. “Angel Dream No. 2” by Willie Nelson & Lukas Nelson
12. “Learning To Fly” by Eli Young Band
13. “Breakdown” by Ryan Hurd feat. Carly Pearce
14. “Yer So Bad” by Steve Earle
15. “Ways To Be Wicked” by Margo Price feat. Mike Campbell
16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” by Midland
17. “Free Fallin’” by The Cadillac Three feat. Breland
18. “I Need To Know” by Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” by Rhiannon Giddens feat. Silkroad Ensemble and Benmont Tench
20. “You Wreck Me (Live)” by George Strait 

About Petty Country:
Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers was one of the most singular and distinctly American bands. Beyond the west coast Rock-Folk jangle, San Francisco psychedelia and a blast of British invasion, the south’s influence was a constant throughout Petty’s songwriting in his words, truths and especially his defiance and dignity. Petty Country: A Country Celebration of Tom Petty draws on all the aspects and flavors of the Gainesville-raised icon’s roots and leans into the genre that defines the region, bringing the top talent in Country and Americana music together to create a 20-song tribute to Petty’s dynamic musical legacy (out June 21 via Big Machine Records). Executive produced by Scott Borchetta (Big Machine Label Group), George Drakoulias (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Black Crowes) and Randall Poster (Wes Anderson, Skyfall) with the oversite of the late icon’s daughter, Adria Petty, the collection pulls from across various realms and seasons of music to create a full picture of Petty’s impressive catalog. Artists lending their talents to the project include: Dierks Bentley, Brothers Osborne, Luke Combs, Steve Earle, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Carly Pearce, Thomas Rhett, George Strait, Chris Stapleton, Lainey Wilson and many more. True to the originals, true to what those songs could be, Petty Country,like Traveling Wilburys, shows vast the influence and reach of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee and highlights the previously unseen breadth and Country reach of Petty’s songs.

# # #