Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty (Featuring George Strait, Luke Combs, Willie Nelson, Wynonna Judd, Lainey Wilson & More) Arrives June 21

NASHVILLE, TN (May 10, 2024) —Steve Earle’s reimagined version of Tom Petty’s “Yer So Bad” is available now—listen/share HERE. The new single is from the highly-anticipated tribute album, Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty, which is set for release on June 21 (via Big Machine Records).

Pre-order Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty HERE

Listen to Steve Earle’s “Yer So Bad” HERE

Earle’s gravelly, Bluegrass-twinged version debuted yesterday on Tom Petty Radio, and he will join David Fricke on his Tom Petty Radio show, “The Friday Night Affair,” next Friday, May 17 to discuss the track and album.  “Yer So Bad” (Named one of Petty’s 50 best songs by Rolling Stone) debuted on Petty’s first solo album, Full Moon Fever, peaked at No. 5 on Billboard’s Album Rock Tracks chart and is considered one of Petty’s best told lyrical stories, finding him “at his most caustically hilarious” (Rolling Stone).

Earle’s take on “Yer So Bad” is the latest taste of Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty to be released wide with Chris Stapleton’s “I Should Have Known It,Dolly Parton’s “Southern Accents” and Dierks Bentley’s “American Girl” already being available to fans. Bentley performed his rendition of “American Girl” on Good Morning America earlier this week (WATCH HERE) as his single continues to climb through the Top 35 on Country radio.

The Country tribute album lovingly curated by some of the late Petty’s closest friends and collaborators, finds some of the most lauded voices in Country and Americana music exploring the extensive Petty catalog and putting their own personal touches on some of his greatest hits.  With the south’s influence being a constant throughout the Gainesville, Florida native’s songwriting, the region’s influence can be heard throughout Petty’s extensive discography, which is in part why Petty is often credited as contemporary Country music’s biggest Rock influences. Petty’s deep roots in Country music saw collaborations and long-lasting friendships with a number of the genre’s greats, including Carl Perkins (Petty inducted Perkins into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame), Johnny Cash (The Heartbreakers were the backing band on Cash’s Unchained), June Carter Cash, Marty Stuart, John Prine, Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette, George Strait, Hank Williams Jr. and Willie Nelson.


1. “I Should Have Known It” by Chris Stapleton
2. “Wildflowers” by Thomas Rhett
3. “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Luke Combs 
4. “Southern Accents” by Dolly Parton
5. “Here Comes My Girl” by Justin Moore
6. “American Girl” by Dierks Bentley
7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” by Lady A
8. “I Forgive It All” by Jamey Johnson
9. “I Won’t Back Down” by Brothers Osborne
10. “Refugee” by Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson
11. “Angel Dream No. 2” by Willie Nelson & Lukas Nelson
12. “Learning To Fly” by Eli Young Band
13. “Breakdown” by Ryan Hurd feat. Carly Pearce
14. “Yer So Bad” by Steve Earle
15. “Ways To Be Wicked” by Margo Price feat. Mike Campbell
16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” by Midland
17. “Free Fallin’” by The Cadillac Three feat. Breland
18. “I Need To Know” by Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” by Rhiannon Giddens feat. Silkroad Ensemble and Benmont Tench
20. “You Wreck Me (Live)” by George Strait


Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers was one of the most singular and distinctly American bands. Beyond the west coast Rock-Folk jangle, San Francisco psychedelia and a blast of British invasion, the south’s influence was a constant throughout Petty’s songwriting in his words, truths and especially his defiance and dignity. Petty Country: A Country Celebration of Tom Petty draws on all the aspects and flavors of the Gainesville-raised icon’s roots and leans into the genre that defines the region, bringing the top talent in Country and Americana music together to create a 20-song tribute to Petty’s dynamic musical legacy (out June 21 via Big Machine Records). Executive produced by Scott Borchetta (Big Machine Label Group), George Drakoulias (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Black Crowes) and Randall Poster (Wes Anderson, Skyfall) with the oversite of the late icon’s daughter, Adria Petty, the collection pulls from across various realms and seasons of music to create a full picture of Petty’s impressive catalog. Artists lending their talents to the project include: Dierks Bentley, Brothers Osborne, Luke Combs, Steve Earle, Wynonna Judd, Lady A, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Carly Pearce, Thomas Rhettt, George Strait, Chris Stapleton, Lainey Wilson and many more. True to the originals, true to what those songs could be, Petty Country, like Traveling Wilbury, shows vast the influence and reach of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee and highlights the previously unseen breadth and Country reach of Petty’s songs.


Over his 40-year career, Tom Petty became one of the biggest cultural icons in the world. In addition to the 13 studio albums he made with the Heartbreakers, Petty recorded three solo albums, including the acclaimed Full Moon Fever and Wildflowers. Petty was also a member of the supergroup, Traveling Wilburys, and in the pre-Heartbreakers band, Mudcrutch. Hailed as one of the greatest Rock artists of all time, Petty’s list of achievements include: multiple Grammy Award winner, 80+ million records sold, and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee. Tom Petty passed away in 2017 shortly after completing his 40th anniversary tour, but his music continues to reach fans, both new and old, around the world today.